The Faculty of Business Administration (FBA) of the University of Macau (UM) recently held an opening ceremony to welcome the third and fourth cohort of students in the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) programme and the second and third cohort of students in the Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) programme. This year, the DBA and EMBA programmes have admitted a total of 60 students from well-known companies in the business sector in Macao and mainland China.

In his speech at the ceremony, UM Rector Yonghua Song outlined UM’s plan for the next five years and encouraged the students to take advantage of the abundant resources provided by the university, constantly seek the truth, and be thoughtful and innovative in the new stage of learning. He also wished them a bright and fruitful academic life and happiness at UM. In addition, Niu Jianjun, executive director and chief executive officer of ICBC Macau, greeted the students and encouraged them to uphold the university motto ‘Humanity, Integrity, Propriety, Wisdom, and Sincerity’. He also stressed that ICBC would provide unreserved support for UM.

Maggie Fu, director of the DBA programme, and Steven Zhang, director of the EMBA programme, gave an overview of the programmes respectively, providing the students with a comprehensive understanding of the programmes.  Raymond Loi, representative of instructors in the programmes, said that course instructors should continuously upgrade their academic standards in order to provide students with more cutting-edge knowledge. In addition, representatives of the first cohort of graduates, namely Lam Iok Ha and Rossana Kong, shared their experience in studying at UM. Representatives of new students, namely Feng Shuo, Lyu Pinde, Wang Guixiang, and Ma Jin, also expressed their excitement about studying at UM.

Guests attending the ceremony also include Vice Rector Michael Hui, Vice Rector and FBA Interim Dean Ge Wei, Rector’s Office Director Carol Wong, Doctor of Education Programme Director Zhou Yisu, and faculty members of the FBA.